Skip to main content

The Kilimanjaro Region is a significant administrative area in northern Tanzania, renowned for its iconic landmark, Mount Kilimanjaro, the tallest mountain in Africa. It is one of Tanzania's 31 administrative regions and covers an area of approximately 13,250 square kilometers.The region is named after Mount Kilimanjaro, a dormant volcano that stands majestically in the region's northern part

The Kilimanjaro Region comprises several districts, including Moshi Municipality, Moshi Rural, Rombo, Hai, and Mwanga, among others. Moshi, the region's largest town, serves as a major center for tourism, commerce, and administrative activities, particularly for those embarking on Mount Kilimanjaro treks.

Apart from Mount Kilimanjaro, the region boasts fertile agricultural land, vibrant local cultures, and a mix of ethnic groups, including the Chagga people, who are known for their rich traditions, coffee farming, and banana cultivation.

In addition to tourism and agriculture, the Kilimanjaro Region contributes to Tanzania's economy through its production of coffee, tea, maize, and other crops. The region's natural beauty, cultural diversity, and the iconic presence of Mount Kilimanjaro make it an important and captivating part of Tanzania's landscape and heritage.